FILED

OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK

OAKLAND

21 00T 29 PH 2: 56

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY'S OFFICE

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 88887 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENTS OF CHARLES OSHINUGA AND EVELYN TORRES AS UNDESIGNATED MEMBERS TO THE HOUSING, RESIDENTIAL RENT AND RELOCATION BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 11954 C.M.S., adopted December 17, 1996, and amended by Ordinance No. 12030 C.M.S., adopted December 16, 1997, and further amended by Ordinance 12273 C.M.S., adopted July 25, 2000, Ordinance No. 12399 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 2002, Ordinance No. 12538 C.M.S., adopted September 30, 2003, Ordinance No. 12706 C.M.S., adopted October 4, 2005, Ordinance No. 13373 C.M.S., adopted June 7, 2016, Ordinance No. 13418 C.M.S., adopted February 7, 2017, Ordinance No. 13618 C.M.S., adopted October 20, 2020, and Ordinance No. 13649 C.M.S., adopted May 18, 2021, creates the Housing, Residential Rent and Relocation Board ("Board") to assume all duties and functions heretofore exercised by the Housing Advisory and Appeals Board, Relocation Appeals Board, and the Housing Advisory and Appeals Board; and

WHEREAS, the Board consists of seven (7) members, two tenants, two residential rental property owners, and three undesignated members, serving not more than two consecutive three-year staggered terms and two alternates for each of the three classes of members; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Charles Oshinuga and Evelyn Torres to serve three-year terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it:

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointments to the Housing, Residential Rent and Relocation Board, which consist of Charles Oshinuga to serve a three-year term as an Undesignated Member that began February 12, 2020 and will end February 11, 2023, filling the seat previously held by Saneta Deuvo-Powell, and Evelyn Torres to serve a three-year term as an Undesignated Member that began February 12, 2019 and will end February 11, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Ardis Graham.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

NOV 0 2 2021

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FIFE, GALLO, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

NOES - Ø

ABSENT -

ABSTENTION Ø

ATTEST:

ASHA REÈD

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California