FILED OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK OAKLAND

21 MAY 18 PM 5: 50

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY

C.M.S.

CITY A TORNEY'S OFFICE

## **OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL**

## **RESOLUTION NO. 88649**

## **INTRODUCED BY MAYOR SCHAAF**

## **RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF VINCE SUGRUE AND REAPPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONER SAHAR SHIRAZI TO THE CITY PLANNING COMMISSION**

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of at least five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 192 C.M.S., as amended, created the City Planning Commission to consider and review matters related to planning, development and preservation and to advise the City Council on land use and environmental concerns; and

WHEREAS, the City Planning Commission consists of seven members serving three-year staggered terms with no more than two terms served consecutively; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has re-appointed Commissioner Sahar Shirazi to serve a second three-year term and appointed Vince Sugrue to serve a three-year term on the City Planning Commission subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED**, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of Commissioner Shirazi to serve a second three-year term on the City Planning Commission, beginning May 6, 2021 and ending May 5, 2024, and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of Vince Sugrue to serve a three-year term on the City Planning Commission, beginning May 5, 2021 and ending May 4, 2024, filling the seat currently held by Nischit Hegde.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

MAY 1 8 2021

AYES - FIFE, GALLO, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

NOES – D ABSENT – D ABSTENTION – D

ATTEST: ASHA REED

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California