2021 MAR -4 PM 4: 07

Approved as to Form and Legality

CITY ATTORNEY

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

88548 RESOLUTION NO. C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF VANCEDRIC WILLIAMS AND REAPPOINTMENT OF CREIGHTON DAVIS, DANIEL ETTLINGER, YONAS GEBREMICAEL, COLETTE C. MCPHERSON, AND ERICKA PARKER AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY POLICING ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 72727 C.M.S., adopted June 11, 1996 and amended by Resolution No. 73916 C.M.S., adopted November 4, 1997, which changed the body's status from a Task Force to a Board, establishes that the Community Policing Advisory Board shall oversee, monitor and report at least twice yearly and provide recommendations on community policing to the Mayor, City Council, City Manager, and director of Police Services; and

WHEREAS, the Community Policing Advisory Board consists of fifteen (15) members, all Oakland residents, serving three-year terms, three appointed by the Mayor, one by each Councilmember, one by the Oakland Housing Authority, one by the Oakland Unified School District Board, and two by the Home Alert Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed VanCedric Williams to serve a three-year term, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

VanCedric Williams to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term, as the OUSD Representative, that began March 25, 2021 and ends March 24, 2024, filling the seat previously held by Daniel Ettlinger.

**FURTHER RESOVLED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council confirms the Mayor's reappointment of the following members to the Community Policing Advisory Board:

Creighton Davis to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term, as the Mayoral Representative, that began March 26, 2021 and ends March 25, 2024, filling the seat previously held by himself.

**Daniel Ettlinger** to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term, as the Mayoral Representative, that began March 26, 2021 and ends March 25, 2024, filling the seat previously held by Don Link.

Yonas Gebremicael to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term, as the Mayoral Representative, that began March 25, 2021 and ends March 24, 2024, filling the seat previously held by himself.

Colette C. McPherson to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term, as the District 2 Representative, that began March 25, 2021 and ends March 24, 2024, filling the seat previously held by herself.

Ericka Parker to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term, as the Oakland Housing Authority Representative, that began March 25, 2021 and ends March 24, 2024, filling the seat previously held by herself.

**FURTHER RESOLVED**: That this Resolution shall take effect immediately upon its passage.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

MAR 1 6 2021

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FIFE, GALLO, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT FORTUNATO BAS

NOES – 💋

ABSENT - 13

**ABSTENTION** -

ATTEST:

Interim City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of

the City of Oakland, California