

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. 88411 C.M.S.

## INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF LUCIANO CALDERON, AISHA ELBGAL, LOSALINE MOA, ATHENA MUHAMMAD, AND ANIYAH STORY AS MEMBERS OF THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission was created by Ordinance No. 10545 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 1985, amended by Ordinance No. 11461, passed June 23, 1992, and amended by Ordinance No. 11869, passed March 12, 1996; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission is comprised of Twenty-Five youth from ages 13 to 21, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, one to represent each Council District and the remaining eighteen (18) to serve as at-large members, with all appointments being for a period of two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Youth Advisory Commission is to identify the needs of youth of the community from the ages of 13 to 21, thereby creating citizen awareness of such needs and serving as the policy recommending body forcivic/education-related matters within the jurisdiction of the City of Oakland in which youth have an interest; and

WHEREAS, with the confirmation of the below appointees by the Council, as of July 1, 2020, the Youth Advisory Commission will include a total of 10 current at-large members; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Luciano Calderon, Aisha Elbgal, Losaline Moa, Athena Muhammad, and Aniyah Story to the Oakland Youth Advisory Commission for the terms set forth below; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the following appointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

Luciano Calderon, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Nia McMillan; and

Aisha Elbgal, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Brandon Frith; and

Losaline Moa, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Allison Duchin, and

Athena Muhammad, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Kimora Oliver, and

Aniyah Story, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2020 and will end June 30, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Jia Hui Su.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

DEC 0 1 2020

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN

NOES -

ABSENT -

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:

ASHA REED

Acting City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland,

California