Approved as to Form and Legality

City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 88383 C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF JANNY CASTILLO, CANDICE ELDER, JOEY HARRISON, ALEXIS LOZANO, JAMES MITTELBERGER, TOMIQUIA MOSS, TRENT RHORER, BETH STOKES AND MARK WALKER TO THE COMMISSION ON HOMELESSNESS

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Oakland Municipal Code Section 4.56.060 established the Commission on Homelessness to advise the Mayor and City Council and make recommendations on Measure W and Measure Q homelessness funds received by the City of Oakland for homelessness programs and services; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Homelessness consists of nine (9) members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council, the composition of which must include no less than half of the commissioners being residents of heavily impacted neighborhoods, no fewer than two (2) commissioners being currently or formerly homeless, no fewer than three (3) commissioners having professional expertise with housing or homeless services, and no fewer than one (1) commissioner having financial expertise; and

WHEREAS, the appointed commissioners listed herein meet the aforementioned requirements; and

WHEREAS, members serving initial appointments shall serve staggered terms of one (1), two (2) or three (3) years, all appointments for subsequent terms shall be for three-year terms; and all member terms shall begin on the date of the first six (6) appointments date and future terms shall begin and end on that date; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Janny Castillo, Candice Elder, Joey Harrison, Alexis Lozano, James Mittleberger, Tomiquia Moss, Trent Rhorer, Beth Stokes, Mark Walker, to the Commission on Homelessness, to the terms listed below; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment to the Commission on Homelessness, as follows:

- Janny Castillo, Tomiquia Moss, Trent Rhorer to serve three-year terms beginning December 1, 2020 and ending December 2, 2023;
- Candice Elder, Alexis Lozano, Joey Harrison to serve two-year terms beginning December 1, 2020 and ending December 2, 2022; and
- Beth Stokes, Mark Walker, James Mittelberger to serve one-year terms beginning December 1, 2020 and ending December 2, 2021.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

NOV 1 0 2020

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN – 🗸

NOES - Ø ABSENT -ABSTENTION -

ATTES (ASHA REED

Acting City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California

2995954v1