Approved as to Form and Legality

City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. 88313 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF NASHWA EMAM TO THE CHILDREN'S FAIRYLAND BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 70531 C.M.S. authorizes the creation of the Children's Fairyland Board of Directors (the "Board") and Resolution Nos. 79001 C.M.S. and 87723 C.M.S. amend the composition of the Board; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 87723 C.M.S. and the Bylaws of Children's Fairyland state that the Board consists of 15 members, 11 appointed by the Board and four appointed by the City of Oakland, three appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council and one a City Administrator's designee; and

WHEREAS, the current Bylaws of Oakland Children's Fairyland, Inc. provide that the board member "Directors" shall not serve more than two consecutive four-year terms, And individuals seeking reappointment after serving two consecutive terms may do so after a one-year period following the expiration of their previous term; and

WHEREAS, the Bylaws of Oakland Children's Fairyland, Inc. provide that the purpose of Children's Fairyland, Inc. is to assist Children's Fairyland by providing funds and services, operate Children's Fairyland, develop, cultivate and advocate greater public interest in Children's Fairyland, and receive grants and donations on behalf of Children's Fairyland; and

WHEREAS, the Board exercises the corporate powers and manages all activities and affairs of Children's Fairyland, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Nashwa Emam, to serve a four-year term, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

, Y

RESOLVED: That the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of Nashwa Emam to the Children's Fairyland Board, to serve a four-year term beginning on December 21, 2020 and ending on December 20, 2024, filling the seat previously held by herself.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

OCT 0 6 2020

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN — X

NOES – **J** ABSENT – **J** ABSTENTION – **J**

ATTEST: ASHA/REED

ASHA REED Acting City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California

2