

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. _____ C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF JULIA LIOU, LAURIE LAWSON, JUSTIN WATKINS, MICHAEL HAMMOCK, RAPHAEL BREINES, AND PAMELA ALSTON AS MEMBERS OF THE SUGAR-SWEETENED BEVERAGE DISTRIBUTION TAX COMMUNITY ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No 86161 C.M.S., approved May 3, 2016, placed a measure on the November 8, 2016 ballot to impose a tax on the distribution of sugar-sweetened beverages; and

WHEREAS, the voters of the City of Oakland adopted the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Ordinance in the November 8, 2016 general municipal election: and

WHEREAS, the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Ordinance establishes the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Community Advisory Board (the "Board") and provides that the Board shall consist of nine (9) members serving not more than two consecutive three-year terms appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council in accordance with City Charter section 601; and

WHEREAS, the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Ordinance (Oakland Municipal Code Section 4.52.080 (B)) provides that the Board shall be comprised of: At least three residents who live in areas disproportionately impacted by diseases caused by sugar consumption; two medical professionals--one medical and one dental with public health experience or who engage in whole or in part in the prevention, diagnosis, treatment or research of, or education about chronic diseases linked to the consumption of sugar; two parents of current students of Oakland Unified

School District ("OUSD"); and two members of the public with experience in addressing public health issues, related to diabetes, obesity and sugary drink consumption, community-based youth food and nutrition programs, school-based food and nutrition programs, oral health or early childhood nutrition; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Julia Liou, Laurie Lawson, Justin Watkins, Michael Hammock, Raphael Breines, and Pamela Alston to serve three-year terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council confirms the mayoral appointments as follows:

Julia Liou is reappointed to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board as a medical professional with public health experience or who engages in whole or in part in the prevention, diagnosis, treatment or research of, or education about chronic diseases linked to the consumption of sugar to serve the three-year term that began on June 15, 2020 and will end on June 14, 2023, filling a seat previously held by herself.

Laurie Lawson is reappointed to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board as an OUSD parent representative, to serve the three-year term that began on June 15, 2020 and will end on June 14, 2023, filling a seat previously held by herself.

Justin Watkins is reappointed to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board as an OUSD parent representative, to serve the three-year term that began on June 15, 2020 and will end on June 14, 2023, filling a seat previously held by himself.

Michael Hammock is reappointed to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board as a resident who lives in an area disproportionately impacted by diseases caused by sugar consumption to serve the three-year term that began on June 15, 2020 and will end on June 14, 2023, filling a seat previously held by himself.

Raphael Breines is reappointed to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board as a resident who lives in an area disproportionately impacted by diseases caused by sugar consumption to serve the three-year term that began on June 15, 2020 and will end on June 14, 2023, filling a seat previously held by himself.

Pamela Alston is reappointed to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board as a dental professional with public health experience or who engages in whole or in part in the prevention, diagnosis, treatment or research of, or education about chronic diseases linked to the consumption of sugar to serve the three-year term that began on June 15, 2020 and will end on June 14, 2023, filling a seat previously held by herself.
IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,
PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:
AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN
NOES -
ABSENT –
ABSTENTION –
ATTEST:

ASHA REED
Acting City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California