

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. 88182 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY HONORABLE MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF DR. JAVAY ROSS, MOLLY J. TAFOYA, PAULA AMBROSE, AND PRIYA JAGANNATHAN TO THE HEAD START ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, The City has been a recipient grantee of the Head Start Program since 1971 and is required to have an established policy council that shares responsibility with the City's governing body for overseeing the delivery of high-quality services to children and families in accordance with Head Start Performance Standards; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 13230 C.M.S. created and established the City's Head Start Advisory Board (HSAB) to assist the Council in its role as the Head Start Governing Body by overseeing, monitoring and reporting on the implementation of the Oakland Head Start/Early Head Start programs; and

WHEREAS, the HSAB is comprised of nine (9) members serving no more than four (4) consecutive three-year terms; and

WHEREAS, The Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Dr. Javay Ross, Molly J. Tafoya, Paula Ambrose, and Priya Jagannathan to the HSAB, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter Section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's following reappointments to the HSAB:

Dr. Javay Ross, to serve a three-year term that began March 12, 2020 and will end March 11, 2023, filling the seat previously held by herself.

Molly J. Tafoya, to serve a three-year term that began March 12, 2020 and will end March 11, 2023, filling the seat previously held by herself.

Paula Ambrose, to serve a three-year term that began March 12, 2020 and will end March 11, 2023, filling the seat previously held by herself.

Priya Jagannathan, to serve a three-year term that began March 12, 2020 and will end March 11, 2023, filling the seat previously held by herself.

JUN 3 0 2020

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN — 3

NOES - 8

ABSENT - Ø

ABSTENTION –

ATTEST:

ASHA RÉED

Acting City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California