OFFICE OF THE CITY OF BOR OAKLAND Approved as to Form and Legality

Rew 2

City Attorney's Office

Rev 5 Patel

2020 FEB -6 PM 3: 00

ÖAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION No. 88043 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF ROY CHAN, JENNIFER EASTON, MICHAEL ORANGE, VANESSA WHANG, KEVIN CHOICE, J.K. FOWLER, MICHELLE LEE, DIANE SANCHEZ, RICHARD RAYA, CHARMIN ROUNDTREE-BAAQEE, AND THEO AYTCHAN WILLIAMS TO THE CULTURAL AFFAIRS COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 13561 C.M.S. re-establishes the Cultural Affairs Commission as a professionally qualified citizen committee responsible for advising the City regarding its public art program, and provides that the Public Art Advisory Committee has nine members; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance 13561 C.M.S provides that all terms shall commence on October 1 and end on September 30. For the initial appointment only, four (4) members shall be appointed for a three-year term, four (4) members shall be appointed for a two-year term, and three (3) members shall be appointed for a one-year term. Thereafter, all appointments shall be for three (3) years, except that an appointment made to fill a vacancy created by the premature departure of a Commission Member shall be for the unexpired portion of the departed Commission Member's term only. Commencing with the effective date of this Ordinance, no person shall be appointed to serve as a member of the Cultural Affairs Commission for more than two (2) consecutive three (3) year terms plus any initial term of less than two years; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Roy Chan, Jennifer Easton, Michael Orange, and Vanessa Whang to serve a three (3) year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission; and Kevin Choice, J.K. Fowler, Michelle Lee, and Diane Sanchez to serve a two (2) year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission; and Richard Raya, Charmin Roundtree-Baaqee, and Theo Aytchan Williams to serve a one (1) year term on the Cultural Affairs; now therefore, be it,

RESOLVED: That the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Roy Chan, to serve a three-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2022.

Jennifer Easton, to serve a three-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2022.

Michael Orange, to serve a three-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2022.

Vanessa Whang, to serve a three-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2022.

Kevin Choice, to serve a two-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2021.

J.K. Fowler, to serve a two-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2021.

Michelle Lee, to serve a two-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2021.

Diane Sanchez, to serve a two-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2021.

Richard Raya, to serve a one-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2020.

Charmin Roundtree-Baaqee, to serve a one-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2020.

Theo Aytchan Williams, to serve a one-year term on the Cultural Affairs Commission beginning October 1, 2019 and ending September 30, 2020.

2898452v1

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

FEB 1 8 2020

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, **JUSTICAL** THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN — 7

NOES - 1

ABSENT - Ø

ABSTENTION - 💋

Excused-ITaylor

ATTEST:_

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the
City of Oakland, California