OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK OAKLAHD

2020 JAN 23 PM 2: 47

Approved as to Form and Legality
Ariera Shapie
CITY ATTORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION No.	8008	C.M.S
110000110111101		U

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF YONAS GEBREMICAEL AND CREIGHTON DAVIS AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY POLICING ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 72727 C.M.S., adopted June 11, 1996 and amended by Resolution No. 73916 C.M.S., adopted November 4, 1997, which changed the body's status from a Task Force to a Board, establishes that the Community Policing Advisory Board shall oversee, monitor and report at least twice yearly and provide recommendations on community policing to the Mayor, City Council, City Manager, and director of Police Services; and

WHEREAS, the Community Policing Advisory Board consists of fifteen (15) members, all Oakland residents, serving three-year terms, three appointed by the Mayor, one by each Councilmember, one by the Oakland Housing Authority, one by the Oakland Unified School District Board, and two by the Home Alert Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Yonas Gebremicael and Creighton Davis to serve the three-year terms begun by other appointees, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Yonas Gebremicael to the Community Policing Advisory Board to complete the three-year term, as the Mayoral Representative, that began March 25, 2018 and ends March 24, 2021, filling the seat previously held by Kimberly Y. Aceves-Iniguez.

Creighton Davis to the Community Policing Advisory Board to complete the three-year term, as the Mayoral Representative, that began March 26, 2019 and ends March 25, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Sheryl Walton.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

FEB 0 4 2020

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, MANNO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN — 7

NOES - V

ABSENT- 1 Gallo

ABSTENTION - 10

ATTEST:

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the

City of Oakland, California