OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK

2019 NOV -7 PM 2: 59

City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. <u>87926</u> **C.M.S.**

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S (1) APPOINTMENT OF YARENCY LIZBETH AVELAR, JULIA BASCH, FRANCESCA BERLOW, BRANDON FRITH, AA'JAHLEE-SOLEIL LONG, NIA MCMILLAN, ALESSANDRA MOHAR, AHMED MUHAMMAD, KIMORA OLIVER, JESSICA RAMOS, BENJAMIN SALOP, JIAHUI SU, BARRETT VALENTINE, AND HARPER VALENTINE; AND (2) REAPPOINTMENT OF IVAN GARCIA AND MAXWELL STERN, AS MEMBERS OF THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission was created by Ordinance No.10545 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 1985, amended by Ordinance No. 11461, passed June 23, 1992, and amended by Ordinance No. 11869, passed March 12, 1996; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission is comprised of Twenty-Five youth from ages 13 to 21, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, one to represent each Council District and the remaining eighteen to serve as at-large members, with all appointments being for a period of two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Youth Advisory Commission is to identify the needs of youth of the community from the ages of 13 to 21, thereby creating citizen awareness of such needs and serving as the policy recommending body for civic/education-related matters within the jurisdiction of the City of Oakland in which youth have an interest, and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Yarency Lizbeth Avelar, Julia Basch, Francesca Berlow, Brandon Frith, Aa'Jahlee-Soleil Long, Nia McMillan, Alessandra Mohar, Ahmed Muhammad, Kimora Oliver, Jessica Ramos, Benjamin Salop, JiaHui Su, Barrett Valentine, and Harper Valentine to the Oakland Youth Advisory Commission for the terms set forth below; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the following appointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

Yarency Lizbeth Avelar, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a District 7 Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Gloria Guzman; and

Julia Basch, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a District 2 Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Rachel Dharmapalan; and

Francesca Berlow, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Kamar Nelson, and

Brandon Frith, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Jackeline Rivas; and

Aa'Jahlee-Soleil Long, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Abel Regalado, and

Nia McMillan, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Roxana Perez; and

Alessandra Mohar, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a District 3 Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Enasia McElvain; and

Ahmed Muhammad, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a District 6 Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Bethania Tadesse; and

Kimora Oliver, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Natalie Dharmapalan; and

Jessica Ramos, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Rahma R Mahdi; and

Benjamin Salop, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a District 1 Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Ryan Hunt; and

JiaHui Su, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Kian Nouri; and

Barrett Valentine, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a District 5 Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Shai Aikens; and

Harper Valentine, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began July 1, 2018 and will end June 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Dajah White; and it

FURTHER RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the following reappointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

Ivan Garcia, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a District 4 Commissioner that began September 11, 2019 and will end September 10, 2021, filling the seat previously held by himself and prior to that by his predecessor, Addison Duchin; and

Maxwell Stern, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At-Large Commissioner that began September 11, 2019 and will end September 10, 2021, filling the seat previously held by himself and prior to that by his predecessor, Aalivah Carnev.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA.

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND

PRESIDENT KAPLAN_

NOES-

ABSENT - 0

ABSTENTION - 17

NOV 1 9 2019

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the

City of Oakland, California