OFFICE OF THE CITY CLEAR OAKLAND

2019 OCT 31 PM 2: 49

Macaulas City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL 87912 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF MARY JO COOK AND ANGELICA VALENTINE AND REAPPOINTMENT OF TYRONE C. JORDAN AS MEMBERS OF THE LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 8064 C.M.S, adopted November 13, 1969 and amended by Ordinance No. 11730 C.M.S., adopted July 26, 1994, establishes the Library Advisory Commission to advise and make recommendations on the operation and future development of the library system and to act as a liaison between the Library Department and the Mayor and City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Library Advisory Commission consists of fifteen (15) members serving not more than two consecutive three-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Mary Jo Cook, and Angelica Valentine and reappointed Tyrone C. Jordan to serve a three-year term subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's following appointments to the Library Advisory Commission:

Mary Jo Cook, to serve the term beginning June 24, 2019 and ending June 23, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Leslie Mandros Bell; and

Angelica Valentine, to fill the remainder of a term beginning October 16, 2017 and ending October 15, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Reginald Constant; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of **Tyron C Jordan**, to serve the term beginning November 14, 2019 and ending November 13, 2022, filling the seat previously held by himself.

NOV 0 5 2019

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND

PRESIDENT KAPLAN _ 8

NOES - 8

ABSENT -

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California