FILED OFFICE OF THE CIT & CLERK OAKLAND

Approved as to Form and Legality City Attorney's Office

2019 SEP -6 CAREAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO 87846 C.M.S.

Introduced by Mayor Libby Schaaf

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF CHERYL MOORE, JENNIFER SEIBERT, ASHA BEENE-CLARKE, SHANNON MCDONNELL, DIANNA GARRETT, AND THE REAPPOINTMENT OF TONI GOMEZ AND JACQUELINE PHILLIPS AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION ON AGING

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No 9921 C.M.S., adopted May 13, 1980 and amended in 1985 by Ordinance No. 10561 C.M.S., in 1989 by Ordinance 11081 C.M.S., and in1995 by Ordinance No 11773, establishes the Commission on Aging to advocate for the elderly and serve as an Advisory Board to the Department on Aging; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Aging consists of eleven (11) members serving not more than two consecutive three year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Cheryl Moore, Jennifer Seibert, Asha Beene-Clarke, Shannon McDonnell, and Dianna Garrett to serve three-year terms as members of the Commission on Aging subject to confirmation by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Toni Gomez and Jacqueline Phillips to serve three-year terms as members of the Commission on Aging subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Cheryl Moore, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three-year term beginning on September 4, 2019 and ending on September 3, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Michelle Hall; and

Jennifer Seibert, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2019 and will end on September 1, 2022, filling the seat previously held by Sandra Johnson; and

Asha Beene-Clarke, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three-year term that began on September 3, 2018 and will end on September 2, 2021, filling the seat previously held by Johnnie May Willie; and

Shannon McDonnell, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2018 and will end on September 1, 2021, filling the seat previously held by Blake Spears; and

Dianna Garrett, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three-year term that began on September 3, 2017 and will end on September 2, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Sylvia Stadmire; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of:

Toni Gomez, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three-year term that began on September 3, 2019 and will end on September 2, 2022, filling the seat previously held by herself; and

Jacqueline Phillips, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three-year term that began on September 2, 2019 and will end on September 1, 2022, filling the seat previously held by herself; and

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

SEP 1 7 2019

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, MANNA PRESIDENT KAPLAN

NOES -ABSENT - 💋 ABSTENTION -Ex cused-

ATTEST LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California