FILED OFFICE OF THE OLT Y OLERK OAKLAND

19 JUL II AMII:06

Approved as to Form and Legality anad Lotho

City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO: <u>87821</u> C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF CLAUDIA MERCADO AND JOSHUA CHASE, AND THE REAPPOINTMENT OF LANESE MARTIN, CHANG YI, ZACHARY KNOX, FRANK TUCKER, AND STEPHANIE FLOYD-JOHNSON AS MEMBERS OF THE CANNABIS REGULATORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the ordinance titled the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act, also known as Measure Z (ordinance), adopted by the voters of Oakland, November 2, 2004, in the General Municipal Election, formed the Cannabis Regulatory Commission to oversee the ordinance's implementation and to make recommendations to the City Council regarding the licensure, taxation, and regulation of cannabis for adult use; and

WHEREAS, the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act specifies that members of the Cannabis Regulatory Commission are to be appointed one by the Mayor, one by the City Auditor, one by the City Administrator, and one from each Member of the City Council, to serve two-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Claudia Mercado and Joshua Chase, and reappointed Lanese Martin, Chang Yi, Zachary Knox, Frank Tucker, and Stephanie Floyd-Johnson subject to confirmation by the City Council, to serve two-year terms on the Cannabis Regulatory Commission; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms this mayoral appointment of:

- (1) Claudia Mercado to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 5 Representative for the term of August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021, filling the seat previously held by Matt Hummel; and
- (2) Joshua Chase to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 6 Representative for the term of August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021, filling the seat previously held by Derreck Johnson; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of:

- (1) Lanese Martin to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 1 Representative for the term of August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021, filling the seat previously held by himself; and
- (2) Chang Yi to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 2 Representative for the term of August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021, filling the seat previously held by himself; and
- (3) Zachary Knox to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 3 Representative for the term of August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021, filling the seat previously held by himself; and
- (4) Frank Tucker to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 7 Representative for the term of August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021, filling the seat previously held by himself.
- (5) Stephanie Floyd-Johnson to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the Mayoral Representative for the term of August 1, 2019 to July 31, 2021, filling the seat previously held by herself; and

JUL 1 6 2019

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE: AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCEL

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN $- \sqrt{2}$

NOES - 🖉

ABSENT – 💋

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:

LATONDA/SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California