OFFICE OF THE GITY CLERK OAKLAND

19 MAR 15 PM 4: 41

Approved as to Form and Legality

**OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL** 

RESOLUTION NO. 87568 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF ED GERBER, NOELLE SIMMONS AND ADAM VAN DE WATER, AND THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF JAY ASHFORD AND MARCHON TATMON TO THE BUDGET ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the Charter of the City of Oakland provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 13337 C.M.S, adopted November 3, 2015, creates the Budget Advisory Commission to advise the Mayor and City Council on topics deemed important to the fiscal health of the City, encourage public participation and input into fiscal decision making, and improve the transparency and accountability of City fiscal information and decision making; and

**WHEREAS**, the Budget Advisory Commission shall be composed of 15 members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Council in accordance with Section 601 of the City Charter; and

WHEREAS, three members are selected by the Mayor, two members are recommended by the Chairperson of the Finance and Management Committee, one member is recommended by each Councilmember, one member is recommended by the City Auditor, and one member is recommended by the Chairperson of the Community Economic and Workforce Development Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf, upon the recommendation of the corresponding Councilmembers, reappoints Ed Gerber, Noelle Simmons, and Adam Van de Water; and WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf, upon the recommendation of the corresponding Councilmembers, appoints Jay Ashford and Marchon Tatmon; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to section 601 of the Charter of the City of Oakland, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of:

**Ed Gerber** to the Budget Advisory Commission to serve a three-year term beginning October 1, 2018 and ending September 30, 2021, retaining the seat he currently holds;

**Noelle Simmons** to the Budget Advisory Commission to serve a three-year term beginning October 1, 2018 and ending September 30, 2021, retaining the seat he currently holds;

Adam Van de Water to the Budget Advisory Commission to serve a three-year term beginning October 1, 2018 and ending September 30, 2021, retaining the seat he currently holds; and be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED:** That pursuant to section 601 of the Charter of the City of Oakland, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

**Marchon Tatmon** to the Budget Advisory Commission to serve the remainder of the three-year term beginning October 3, 2017 and ending October 2, 2020, filling the seat vacated by Brandon Baranco; and

**Jay Ashford** to the Budget Advisory Commission to serve as a Mayoral representative for a three-year term beginning October 1, 2018 and ending September 30, 2021.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

MAR 2 1 2019

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - FORTUNATO BAS, GALLO, AMBON MORLHAMIN, KALB, REID, TAYLOR, THAO

AND PRESIDENT KAPLAN

NOES - 8

ABSENT -

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California