FILED
OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK
OAKLAND

18 NOV 29 PM 4: 29

Approved as to Form and Legality

Macaular City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 87454 C.M.S.

Introduced by Mayor Libby Schaaf

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF LAURIE S. LAWSON AND JUSTIN WATKINS AS MEMBERS OF THE SUGAR-SWEETENED BEVERAGE DISTRIBUTION TAX COMMUNITY ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 86161 C.M.S., approved May 3, 2016, placed a tax measure on the November 8, 2016 ballot to impose a tax on the distribution of sugar-sweetened beverages; and

WHEREAS, the voters of the City of Oakland adopted the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Ordinance in the November 8, 2016 general municipal election; and

WHEREAS, the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Ordinance establishes the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Community Advisory Board (the "Board") and provides that the Board shall consist of nine (9) members serving not more than two consecutive three year terms appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council in accordance with City Charter section 601; and

WHEREAS, The Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Ordinance (Oakland Municipal Code Chapter 4.52) provides that the Board shall be comprised of: At least three residents who live in areas disproportionately impacted by diseases caused by sugar consumption; two medical professionals - one medical and one dental with public health experience or who engage in whole or in part in the prevention, diagnosis, treatment or research of, or education about chronic diseases linked to the consumption of sugar; two parents of current students of the Oakland Unified School District (OUSD); and two members of the public with experience in addressing public health issues, related to diabetes, obesity and sugary drink consumption, community-based youth food and nutrition programs, school based food and nutrition programs, oral health or early childhood nutrition; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Laurie S. Lawson and Justin Watkins to serve three-year terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Laurie S. Lawson, to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Community Advisory Board to serve a three-year term that began on June 15, 2017 and will end on June 14, 2020, filling a seat previously held by Renia Webb;

Justin Watkins, to the Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Distribution Tax Community Advisory Board to serve a three-year term that began on June 15, 2017 and will end on June 14, 2020, filling a seat previously held by Priscilla Wilson.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

DEC 1 1 2018

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - MHOMAS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, GUILLÉN, KALB,

KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID -7

NOES - 🏈

ABSENT - Ø

ABSTENTION -

Excused - | Brooks

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California