OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERA OAKLAND

18 SEP -7 AM 1:38

Approved as to Form and Legality

City Attorney's Office

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 87331 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY HONORABLE MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF MARJORIE LYNNE, HOWARD TEVELSON, KAREN NAKAMURA, KARINA RYAN AND THOMAS HOWARD-GREGORY TO THE COMMISSION ON PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 9968 C.M.S., adopted August 5, 1980, and amended by Ordinance No. 11864 C.M.S., adopted March 12, 1996, created the Commission on Persons with Disabilities to address issues germane to accessibility, services and civil rights for persons with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Persons with Disabilities consists of eleven (11) members serving three year staggered terms with no more than two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, 51% of Commission members must be persons with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Marjorie Lynne, Howard Tevelson, Karen Nakamura, Karina Ryan and Howard Gregory subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601 the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's following appointment to the Commission on Persons with Disabilities:

**Marjorie Lynne,** Mayoral appointment to serve a three-year term that began September 3, 2018 and ending September 2, 2021, filling a seat previously held by Alicia Contreras.

**Howard Tevelson,** Mayoral appointment to serve a first three-year term that began September 3, 2018 and ending September 2, 2021, filling a seat previously held by Bettye Lou Wright.

**Karen Nakamura,** Mayoral appointment to serve a first three-year term that began September 3, 2018 and ending September 2, 2019, filling a seat previously held by Jian Hong.

**Karina Ryan,** Mayoral appointment to serve a first three-year term that began September 3, 2018 and ending September 2, 2021 filling a seat previously held by herself.

**Thomas Howard Gregory,** Mayoral reappointment to serve a second three-year term that began September 3, 2018 and ending September 2, 2021 filling a seat previously held by himself.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

SEP 1 7 2018

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, GUILLEN, KALB, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID 7

ATTEST:

NOES - /

ABSENT - id

ABSTENTION -

Excused-1 brooks

LATONIDA CINANA

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California