

18 FEB 23 PM 8: 47

APPROVED FOR FORM AND I	_EGALITY
Michilan	
CITY A	TORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION No.	C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF DWAYNE AIKENS, AMY COLE, AND ETHEL HOWZE, AND APPOINTMENT OF CHRISTOPHER O. NORMAN, JINHEE HA, EMILE C.WOLFSON AND PETER MOORE TO THE PARKS AND RECREATION ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 8065 C.M.S., adopted November 13, 1969 and amended by Ordinance No. 11731 C.M.S., adopted July 26, 1994, establishes the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission to advise the Mayor, City Council, City Administrator and the Office of Parks and Recreation on all matters relating to the general policy and operation of the parks and recreation system; and

WHEREAS, the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission consists of eleven (11) members serving no more than two consecutive three-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Dwayne Aikens, Amy Cole, Ethel Howze, and appointed Christopher O. Norman, Jinhee Ha, Emilie C. Wolfson and Peter Moore to serve a three-year term, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of:

- Dwayne Aikens, to serve a three term on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission beginning November 17, 2017 and ending November 16, 2020 filling the seat he previously held,
- Amy Cole, to serve a three term on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission beginning November 14, 2017 and ending November 13, 2020 filling the seat she previously held,
- Ethel Howze, to serve a three term on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission beginning November 15, 2017 and ending November 14, 2020 filling the seat she previously held; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

- Christopher O. Norman, to serve a three-year term on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission beginning March 18, 2018 and ending March 17, 2021, filling the seat previously held by Toshia Marshall,
- Jinhee Ha, to serve a three-year term on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission beginning November 14, 2017 and ending November 13, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Paul Rosenbloom,
- Emilie C. Wolfson, to serve a three-year term on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission beginning November 14, 2017 and ending November 13, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Faith Du Bois,
- Peter Moore, to serve a three-year term on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Commission beginning November 14, 2017 and ending November 13, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Ellen Wu.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID

NOES -

ABSENT -

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:	·	

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the
City of Oakland, California