FILED

OPETOE OF THE OIL CLERK

2018 JAN -4 PM 3: 02 OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL



RESOLUTION	No.	C.M	.S.

INTRODUCED BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT LARRY REID

DRAFT

A Resolution Recognizing and Honoring The Following Eight (8) Outgoing Members of the Citizen's Police Review Board for Their Services: Chris Brown (6 yrs), Charlette Green (2 yrs), Sharon Ball (2 yrs), Brian Bingham (5 yrs), Jose Dorado – (2 yrs), Colette McPherson – (2 yrs), Howard Tevelson (8 yrs), Mauricio Wilson (2 yrs)

WHEREAS, The Oakland City Council established the Citizens' Police Review Board on April 15, 1980, to review certain complaints of misconduct by police officers or park rangers, conduct fact-finding investigations, and make advisory reports to the City Administrator and;

WHEREAS, On July 30, 1996, the City Council expanded the Board's original jurisdiction to include complaints involving: (1) the excessive use of force; or (2) communication of bias based upon an individual's legally protected status (race, gender, national origin, religion, sexual orientation or disability), and simultaneously, also granted the Board supplemental jurisdiction over other non-force conduct, subpoena power over police officers and park rangers and authorization to mediate final and binding resolution of complaints, and;

WHEREAS, In 2002, the Oakland City Council further expanded the Board's jurisdiction and powers, and on July 30, 2002, the City Council granted the Board original jurisdiction over all complaints filed against Oakland police officers or park rangers and expanded the Board's size from nine members to twelve members, with three of the twelve members to serve as alternates and;

WHEREAS, On July 30, 2002, the City Council added a policy analyst to the Board's staff and required the Board to make complaint forms available to members of the public at libraries, resource centers, and recreation centers, and;

WHEREAS, The following eight (8) outgoing members are hereby recognized and honored for their dedicated services and commitments to the Citizens Police Review Board, and expresses their support to the Oakland Police Commission to carry on the dedicated services to the residents of Oakland: Chris Brown (6 yrs), Charlette Green (2 yrs), Sharon Ball (2 yrs), Brian Bingham (5 yrs), Jose Dorado – (2 yrs), Colette McPherson – (2 yrs), Howard Tevelson (8 yrs), Mauricio Wilson (2 yrs), so therefore be it:

RESOLVED, That the Oakland City Council honors and recognizes these members for their services to the Citizens Police Review Board.

RESOLVED,.	
IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,	, 2018.
PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:	
AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GUILLEN, KALB, KAPLAN, and PRESID	GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, DENT REID
NOES -	
ABSENT -	
ABSTENTION -	
ATTEST	LaTonda Simmons, CMC City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California