17 DEC 14 PM 3:41

Approved as to Form and Legality

OR AFT

City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOL	UTION	NO.	•	C.M.S

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF STEPHANIE FLOYD-JOHNSON, MATT HUMMEL, ZACHARY KNOX, LANESE MARTIN, AND FRANK TUCKER AS MEMBERS OF THE CANNABIS REGULATORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act (Ordinance 12694 C.M.S.), also known as Measure Z, adopted by the voters of Oakland, November 2, 2004, in the General Municipal Election, creates the Cannabis Regulatory Commission to oversee the ordinance's implementation and the disbursement of revenue from licensing and taxation of businesses that sell cannabis; and

WHEREAS, the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act specifies that we members of the Cannabis Regulatory Commission are to be appointed one by the Mayor, one by the City Auditor, one by the City Administrator, and one from each Member of the City Council, to serve unlimited two-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Stephanie Floyd-Johnson, Matt Hummel, Zachary Knox, Lanese Martin, and Frank Tucker to each serve a two-year term subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council confirms this mayoral appointment as follows:

Stephanie Floyd- Johnson is appointed to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the Mayoral Representative for the term that began August 1, 2017 and will end July 31, 2019, filling the seat she previously held.

Matt Hummel, is appointed to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 5 Representative for the term that began August 1, 2017 and will end July 31, 2019, filling the seat he previously held.

Zachary Knox is appointed to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 3 Representative for the term that began August 1, 2017 and will end July 31, 2019, filling the seat he previously held.

Lanese Martin is appointed to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 1 Representative for the term that began August 1, 2017 and will end July 31, 2019, filling the seat previously held by Dale Gieringer.

Frank Tucker, is appointed to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission as the District 7 Representative for the term that began August 1, 2017 and will end July 31, 2019, filling the seat previously held by Jacob Sassaman.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES – BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID

NOES -

ABSENT -

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California