

17 DEC -4 PH 4: 02

Approved as	s to Fo	rm ar	id Lec	ality
aria	A	V	11	W
7-1	CIT	ΑT	TORI	VEY

## **OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL**

RESOLUTION No	C.M.S.	
INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF		

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF GEORGE LERMA AND GERALDINE WONG AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY POLICING ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 72727 C.M.S., adopted June 11, 1996 and amended by Resolution No. 73916 C.M.S., adopted November 4, 1997, which changed the body's status from a Task Force to a Board, establishes that the Community Policing Advisory Board shall oversee, monitor and report at least twice yearly and provide recommendations on community policing to the Mayor, City Council, City Manager, and director of Police Services; and

**WHEREAS**, the Community Policing Advisory Board consists of fifteen (15) members, all Oakland residents, serving three-year terms, three appointed by the Mayor, one by each Councilmember, one by the Oakland Housing Authority, one by the Oakland Unified School District Board, and two by the Home Alert Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed George Lerma and Geraldine Wong to serve a three-year term, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

**George Lerma** to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term as the District 3 Representative, that began March 2, 2017 and ends April 30, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Sal Gomez.

**Geraldine Wong** to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term, as the Neighborhood Watch Steering Committee Representative, that began March 25, 2017 and ends March 24, 2020, filling the seat previously held by Angela Haller.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID

NOES -

ABSENT -

**ABSTENTION -**

ATTEST: LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California