

Approved as to Form and Legality
City Attorney's Office

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION	NO.	What the continues were as the continues and the table to the continues and the cont	C.M.S

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF ESMERALDA CORTEZ, DARRELL EDWARDS, JR., IVAN GARCIA, GIOVANNI HERNANDEZ, MAXWELL STERN, BUNA POENG, DAVONE RIDDICK, SEPIDEH KIUMARSI, ERICSON AMAYA BONILLA, DAREN BARRON, GRECIA JAQUELINE PALMA AS MEMBERS OF THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission was created by Ordinance No.10545 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 1985, amended by Ordinance No. 11461, passed June 23, 1992, and amended by Ordinance No. 11869, passed March 12, 1996, and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission is comprised of Twenty-Five youth from ages 13 to 21, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, one to represent each Council District and the remaining eighteen to serve as at-large members, with all appointments being for a period of two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Youth Advisory Commission is to identify the needs of youth of the community from the ages of 13 to 21, thereby creating citizen awareness of such needs and serving as the policy recommending body for civic/education-related matters within the jurisdiction of the City of Oakland in which youth have an interest, and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed ESMERALDA CORTEZ, DARRELL EDWARDS, JR., IVAN GARCIA, GIOVANNI HERNANDEZ, MAXWELL STERN, BUNA POENG, DAVONE RIDDICK, SEPIDEH KIUMARSI, ERICSON AMAYA BONILLA, DAREN BARRON, GRECIA JAQUELINE PALMA to the Oakland Youth Advisory Commission for the terms set forth below; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the following appointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

**Esmeralda Cortez**, to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Darrell Edwards, Jr.,** to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Ivan Garcia,** to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Giovanni Hernandez,** to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Maxwell Stern**, to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Buna Poeng**, to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Davone Riddick**, to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Sepideh Kiumarsi**, to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Ericson Amaya Bonilla,** to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

**Daren Barron**, to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

Grecia Jaqueline Palma, to serve a two-year term that began September 11, 2017 and ends September 10, 2019;

IN COU	NCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,
PASSEI	D BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:
AYES -	BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID
NOES -	
ABSEN	T- ,
ABSTE	NTION –
	ATTEST:
	LATONDA SIMMONS
	City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the

City of Oakland, California