FILED

OPFICE OF THE CIT I GLERK

OAKLAND

2017 SEP -7 PM 4: 27



OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION	NO.	C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF ENASIA MCELVAINE AND SHAI AIKENS AS MEMBERS OF THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission was created by Ordinance No.10545 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 1985, amended by Ordinance No. 11461, passed June 23, 1992, and amended by Ordinance No. 11869, passed March 12, 1996; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission is comprised of Twenty-Five youth from ages 13 to 21, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, one to represent each Council District and the remaining eighteen to serve as at-large members, with all appointments being for a period of two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Youth Advisory Commission is to identify the needs of youth of the community from the ages of 13 to 21, thereby creating citizen awareness of such needs and serving as the policy recommending body for civic/education-related matters within the jurisdiction of the City of Oakland in which youth have an interest, and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Enasia McElvaine and Shai Aikens to the Oakland Youth Advisory Commission for the terms set forth below; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the following appointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

Enasia McElvaine, to serve a two-year term as a District 3 representative that begins September 8, 2017 and ends September 7, 2019;

Shai Aikens, to serve a two-year term as a District 5 representative beginning July 1, 2017 and will end June 30, 2019, filling the seat previously held by Daisy Garcia.

IN COUN	ICIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,
PASSED	BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:
AYES -	BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID
NOES -	
ABSENT	
ABSTEN	TION –
	ATTEST:
	LATONDA SIMMONS
	City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the