THE CITY GLERE SAKLAND

17 JUL -6 PM 3: 53

Approved as to Form and Legality

Macanto

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO: 86828 C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S RE-APPOINTMENT OF AISHA BROWN, IRIS BRODY LOPEZ, CHRISTIAN BATCHELDER, MICHAEL MOORE, MOLLY TAFOYA, AND DR. JAVAY ROSS TO THE HEAD START ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the City of Oakland has been a grantee of the Head Start Program since 1971 and is required to have an established policy council that shares responsibility with the governing body for overseeing the delivery of high quality services to children and families in accordance with Head Start Performance Standards; and

WHEREAS, the City Council passed Ordinance No. 13230 C.M.S. establishing the creation of the Head Start Advisory Board (HSAB) to assist the Council in its role as the Head Start Governing Body by overseeing, monitoring and reporting on the implementation of the Oakland Head Start/Early Head Start programs; and

WHEREAS, the HSAB is comprised of nine members serving no more than four consecutive three-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Aisha Brown, Iris Brody Lopez, Christian Batchelder, Michael Moore, Molly Tafoya, and Dr. Javay Ross to the HSAB subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointments of:

Aisha Brown, to serve a three-year term that will begin March 12, 2017 and will end March 11, 2020 filling the seat previously held by herself;

Iris Brody Lopez, to serve a three-year term that will begin March 12, 2017 and will end March 11, 2020 filling the seat previously held by herself;

Christian Batchelder, to serve a three-year term that will begin March 12, 2017 and will end March 11, 2020 filling the seat previously held by himself;

Michael Moore, to serve a three-year term that will begin March 12, 2017 and will end March 11, 2020 filling the seat previously held by himself;

Molly Tafoya, to serve a three-year term that will begin March 12, 2017 and will end March 11, 2020 filling the seat previously held by herself; and

Dr. Javay Ross, to serve a three-year term that will begin March 12, 2017 and will end March 11, 2020 filling the seat previously held by herself;