OFFICE OF THE OIL Y CLERK

2017 APR 13 PM 3: 58

Approved as to Form and Legality

Elia & CITY ATTORNEY

## **OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL**

RESOLUTION NO. 86712 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF AKIBA BRADFORD AND COLLEEN BROWN AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY POLICING ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 72727 C.M.S., adopted June 11, 1996 and amended by Resolution No. 73916 C.M.S., adopted November 4, 1997, which changed the body's status from a Task Force to a Board, establishes that the Community Policing Advisory Board shall oversee, monitor and report at least twice yearly and provide recommendations on community policing to the Mayor, City Council, City Manager, and director of Police Services; and

WHEREAS, the Community Policing Advisory Board consists of fifteen (15) members, all Oakland residents, serving three-year terms, three appointed by the Mayor, one by each Councilmember, one by the Oakland Housing Authority, one by the Oakland Unified School District Board, and two by the Home Alert Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Akiba

Bradford and Colleen Brown to serve three-year terms, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of:

Akiba Bradford to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a second term as the District 3 Representative beginning March 26, 2017 and ending March 25, 2020, retaining the seat she currently holds.

**Colleen Brown** to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a second term as the District 6 Representative beginning March 25, 2017 and ending March 24, 2020, retaining the seat she currently holds.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

MAY 0 2 2017

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, MANUAL, GIBSON MCELHANEY, GUILLÉN, KALB, MANUAL AND PRESIDENT REID — (

**TEST** 

NOES - Ø

ABSENT-2-Gallo and Kaplan

ABSTENTION - **₽** 

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California