OFFICE OF THE GIT Y CLERA

17 FEB 24 PM 2: 44

Approved as to Form and Legality City Attorney's Office

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Resolution No. \_\_\_\_\_C.M.S.

## INTRODUCED BY VICE MAYOR CAMPBELL WASHINGTON

## RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING OAKLAND UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT STUDENTS FOR THEIR OUSTANDING PERFORMANCES AND FIRST PLACE AWARDS IN THE 38<sup>TH</sup> ANNUAL MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. ORATORICAL FEST 2017

WHEREAS, the youth of Oakland participated in the Oakland Unified School District's annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Oratorical Fest, now in its 38<sup>th</sup> year. The Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Oratorical Fest began with a vision from eight community and school members who desired to see the rich oral tradition of the African American community provided to students within an academic setting; and

WHEREAS, the Martin Luther King Jr. Oratorical Fest encourages students to think critically about Dr. King's legacy and philosophy and how it can inspire them to transform their lives, their communities and society; and

**WHEREAS**, over 1,000 student representatives from Kindergarten to the 12<sup>th</sup> grade, competed in four categories including Individual Poetry, Original Poetry, Famous Speeches, and Choral Speaking/Dramatic Skit and moved the audience while provoking thought and conversation; and

WHEREAS, participation in oratorical competitions encourages and celebrates excellent models of reading, writing, speaking and listening; this supports Oakland Unified School District's goals of all students reading and writing at or above grade level; and

**WHEREAS**, the tremendous effort, hard work and civic dedication of this year's first place winners is a shining example of the future of Oakland; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That the Oakland City Council honors the first place winners in the Oakland Unified School District's 38<sup>th</sup> Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Oratorical Fest, and celebrates the outstanding efforts of all of the participants.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES -	BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIB	3SON MCELHANEY, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN	V
	AND PRESIDENT REID		

NOES -	,
ABSENT –	
ABSTENTION -	

ATTEST: