PILED OFFICE OF THE CITY CLEAN OAKLAND

17 JAN 26 PM 3:01

Approved as to Form and Legality

Itornev

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL 86579 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION AMENDING RESOLUTION NO. 86496 C.M.S. CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF RACHEL DHARMAPALAN, ADDISON DUCHIN, ELENA LARSEN, RYAN HUNT, GLORIA GUZMAN, AND BETHANIA TADESSE AS MEMBERS OF THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION IN ORDER TO CORRECT THE APPOINTMENTS

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission was created by Ordinance No.10545 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 1985, amended by Ordinance No. 11461, passed June 23, 1992, and amended by Ordinance No. 11869, passed March 12, 1996; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission is comprised of Twenty-Five youth from ages 13 to 21, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, one to represent each Council District and the remaining eighteen to serve as at-large members, with all appointments being for a period of two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Youth Advisory Commission is to identify the needs of youth of the community from the ages of 13 to 21, thereby creating citizen awareness of such needs and serving as the policy recommending body for civic/education-related matters within the jurisdiction of the City of Oakland in which youth have an interest, and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Resolution No. 86496 C.M.S. the City Council confirmed the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf's reappointment of Rachel Dharmapalan, Addison Duchin, Elena Larsen, Ryan Hunt, Gloria Guzman and Bethania Tadesse to the Oakland Youth Advisory Commission; and

WHEREAS, some of the appointments confirmed in Resolution No. 86496 did not accurately reflect the Council District represented by the appointee; now therefore be it **RESOLVED:** That the City Council hereby amends Resolution No. 86496 C.M.S. and pursuant to City Charter section 601, confirms the following appointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

Rachel Dharmapalan, Mayoral reappointment to serve a two-year term as a District 2 appointee that began July 1, 2016 and will end June 30, 2018, retaining the seat she previously held.

Addison Duchin, Mayoral reappointment to serve a two-year term as a District 4 appointee that began November 1, 2016 and will end October 30, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Eleanor Good.

Elena Larsen, Mayoral reappointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointee that began July 1, 2016 and will end June 30, 2018, retaining the seat she previously held.

Ryan Hunt, Mayoral reappointment to serve a two-year term as a District 1 appointee that began July 1, 2016 and will end June 30, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Jamila Coleman.

Gloria Guzman, Mayoral reappointment to serve a two-year term as a District 7 appointee that began July 1, 2016 and will end June 30, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Kamari Quinones.

Bethania Tadesse, Mayoral reappointment to serve a two-year term as a District 6 appointee that began July 1, 2016 and will end June 30, 2018, retaining the seat she previously held.

Jackeline Rivas, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointment that began July 1, 2016 and will end June 30, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Shizhou Chen.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, FEB 0 7 2017

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN, AND PRESIDENT REID -----7

NOES -ABSENT -Campbell Washington-ABSTENTION MMON & ansed. ATTEST: LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California