

Approved as to Form and Legality

City Attorney's Office

16 OCT 20 PM 2: 18

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. <u>86451</u> C.M.S.

Introduced by Mayor Libby Schaaf

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF MARTHA B. SCOTT, MICHELLE HALL, IRENE YEN AND SANDRA SIMON AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION ON AGING

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No 9921 C.M.S., adopted May 13, 1980 and amended in 1985 by Ordinance No. 10561 C.M.S., in 1989 by Ordinance 11081 C.M.S., and in1995 by Ordinance No 11773, establishes the Commission on Aging to advocate for the elderly and serve as an Advisory Board to the Department on Aging; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Aging consists of eleven (11) members serving not more than two consecutive three year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Martha B. Scott, Michelle Hall, Irene Yen and Sandra Simon to serve three-year terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Martha B. Scott, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three year term that began on September 2, 2016 and will end on September 1, 2019, retaining the seat she currently holds.

Michelle Hall, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three year term that began on September 4, 2016 and will end on September 3, 2019, retaining the seat she currently holds.

Iren Yen, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three year term that began on September 3, 2016 and will end on September 2, 2019, retaining the seat she currently holds.

Sandra Simon, to the Commission on Aging to serve a three year term that began on September 2, 2016 and will end on September 1, 2019, retaining the seat she currently holds.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, N

NOV 0 1 2016

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN, REID AND PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY ~ 5

NOES-D

ABSENT – Ù

ABSTENTION – \hat{D}

Ø ATTEST: LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California