Approved as to Form and Legality

16 JUN 30 AM 10: 18

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

**RESOLUTION NO.** 

INTRODUCED BY HONORABLE MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF OLIVIA DE JIMENEZ, BRANDON YOUNG, PREET ANAND AND SARAH GARNER TO THE COMMISSION ON PERSONS WITH **DISABILITIES** 

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 9968 C.M.S., adopted August 5, 1980, and amended by Ordinance No. 11864 C.M.S., adopted March 12, 1996, created the Commission on Persons with Disabilities to address issues germane to accessibility. services and civil rights for persons with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Persons with Disabilities consists of fifteen (15) members serving three year staggered terms with no more than two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, 51% of Commission members must be persons with disabilities: and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Olivia De Jimenez, Brandon Young, Preet Anand and Sarah Garner subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601 the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's following appointments to the Commission on Persons with Disabilities:

Olivia de Jimenez, for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2014 and ending September 2, 2017, filling the seat previously held by Lorraine Rosenblatt:

ŧ.

Brandon Young, for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015 and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Fatimah Aure:

**Preet Anand,** for a three-year term beginning October 19, 2014 and ending October 18, 2017, filling the seat previously held by Phyllis Stevenson; and

**Sarah Garner**, for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2014 and ending September 2, 2017, filling the seat previously held by Miquette Thompson.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

JUL 1 9 2016

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN, REID AND PRESIDENT

ATTEST

GIBSON MCELHANEY - 8

NOES - D

ABSENT - 🛇

ABSTENTION - 🛇

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California

2