16 MAY 26 PH 12: 37

OWACAWLAWY

City Attorney's Office

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. \_\_\_\_86199 C.M.S

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION APPOINTING RACHEL DHARMAPALAN, ADDISON DUCHIN, ELENA LARSEN, RYAN HUNT, GLORIA GUZMAN, MALACHI TAYLOR, AND BETHANIA TADESSE AS MEMBERS OF THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION

**WHEREAS**, the Youth Advisory Commission was created by Ordinance No.10545 C.M.S., adopted February 5, 1985, amended by Ordinance No. 11461, passed June 23, 1992, and amended by Ordinance No. 11869, passed March 12, 1996; and

WHEREAS, the Youth Advisory Commission is comprised of Twenty-Five youth from ages 13 to 21, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council, one to represent each Council District and the remaining eighteen to serve as at-large members, with all appointments being for a period of two years, with a limit of two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the purpose of the Youth Advisory Commission is to identify the needs of youth of the community from the ages of 13 to 21, thereby creating citizen awareness of such needs and serving as the policy recommending body for civic/education-related matters within the jurisdiction of the City of Oakland in which youth have an interest, and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Rachel Dharmapalan, Addison Duchin, Elena Larsen, Ryan Hunt, Gloria Guzman, Malachi Taylor, and Bethania Tadesse to the Oakland Youth Advisory Commission for the terms set forth below; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the following appointments to the Youth Advisory Commission:

**Rachel Dharmapalan,** Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointee that began July 1, 2014 and will end June 30, 2016, filling the term previously held by Rebecca Dharmapalan.

Addison Duchin, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointee that began July 1, 2014 and will end June 30, 2016, filling the term previously held by Raja'a Williams.

**Elena Larsen,** Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointee that began July 1, 2014 and will end June 30, 2016, filling the seat previously held by Takai Ginwright.

Ryan Hunt, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointee that began July 1, 2014 and will end June 30, 2016, filling the seat previously held by Shizhou Chen.

Gloria Guzman, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointee that began July 1, 2014 and will end June 30, 2016, filling the seat previously held by Bryce Showes.

Malachi Taylor, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as an At Large appointee that began July 1, 2014 and will end June 30, 2016, filling the seat previously held by Mahlik Smith.

Bethania Tadesse, Mayoral appointment to serve a two-year term as a Council District 6 appointee that began July 1, 2014 and will end June 30, 2016 filling the seat previously held by Olivia Lucas.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

JUN 07 2016

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN, RED AND

PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY

NOES -

ABSENT - 1 - RED

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California