FILED OFFICE OF THE CIT & CLERN OAKLAND

Approved as to Form and Legality



## 2016 MAY 26 PM 4: 06

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

### RESOLUTION NO. \_\_\_\_\_ C.M.S.

#### INTRODUCED BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT LYNETTE GIBSON MCELHANEY

#### Commending Jaelyn Murry For Her Outstanding Contributions To The Community And For Being Named The 2016 Youth Of The Year By The Boys And Girls Club Of Oakland

**WHEREAS**, the Boys and Girls Clubs' "Youth of the Year" program celebrates a 14 to 18 year-old student-member's outstanding contributions to their family, school, community and their Boys and Girls Club; and

**WHEREAS**, the Boys and Girls Clubs' "Youth of the Year" program recognizes a student-member who exemplifies academic excellence, moral character, life goals, poise and public speaking, as well as personal challenges and obstacles that they have overcome; and

**WHEREAS**, Jaelyn Murry joined the Boys & Girls Club of Oakland in 2008 shortly after her family relocated to Oakland from Los Angeles; and

**WHEREAS**, Jaelyn is a passionate and dedicated community activist as evidenced by her volunteer efforts at the Sharon Randolph Breast Cancer Foundation where she has worked tirelessly to raise breast cancer awareness in her community; and

**WHEREAS**, Jaelyn gives back to the community through her mentorship to younger youth through her position as an intern reporter at Next Generation News; and

WHEREAS, Jaelyn and her family have persevered through numerous obstacles and through it all Jaelyn has transcended these challenges and been an inspiration to those around her; and

**WHEREAS**, in recognition of these achievements, the Boys & Girls Club of Oakland chose Jaelyn out of their approximately 2,500 student-members as the Youth of the Year; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That the Oakland City Council hereby commends Jaelyn Murry for her outstanding contributions to the community and for being named the 2016 Youth of the Tear by the Boys and Girls Club of Oakland.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

,

# AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN, REID AND PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY

NOES -

ABSENT -

ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California