

16 MAR 24 PM 3: 36

Approved as to Form and Legality Oakland City Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

86068

Resolution No.

C.M.S.

Introduced by Council President Lynette Gibson McElhaney

RESOLUTION APPOINTING MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF, COUNCIL PRESIDENT LYNETTE GIBSON MCELHANEY, VICE MAYOR ANNIE CAMPBELL WASHINGTON, CHIEF OF POLICE SEAN WHENT, AND SARA BEDFORD, DIRECTOR OF THE HUMAN SERICES DEPARTMENT, TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE YOUTH VENTURES JOINT POWERS AUTHORITY AND LIEUTENANT LERONNE ARMSTRONG AS THE OFFICIAL ALTERNATE FOR CHIEF OF POLICE SEAN WHENT through ALL FOR TERMS COMMENCING JULY 1, 2015 AND ENDING JUNE 30, 2019

WHEREAS, on July 25, 2006 the Oakland City Council approved the Joint Powers Authority ("JPA") creating the Youth Ventures Joint Powers Authority; and

WHEREAS, the JPA Agreement provides that the City Council may make five appointments to the Youth Ventures JPA Board of Trustees for terms of up to four years; and

WHEREAS, Section VI.A.4 of the JPA Agreement states that trustee terms shall be for 4 years, subject to replacement at any time by the appointing authority; and

WHEREAS, the City Council's Rules of Procedures (Resolution No. 82580 C.M.S.) provide that "the President of the Council shall recommend appointments to regional and local boards and agencies, as appropriate, subject to confirmation by the Council"; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That the following are hereby appointed to the Youth Ventures Joint Powers Authority Board of Trustees to complete terms commencing July 1, 2015 and ending June 30, 2019:

- Council President Lynette Gibson McElhaney
- Vice Mayor Annie Campbell Washington
- Mayor Libby Schaaf
- Chief of Police Sean Whent
- Human Services Department Director Sara Bedford

FURTHER RESOLVED: that Lieutenant Leronne Armstrong is hereby reappointed to serve as alternate for Chief of Police Sean Whent to the Youth Ventures Joint Powers Authority Board of Trustees to complete a term commencing July 1, 2015 and ending June 30, 2019.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

APR 05 2016

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL- WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLEN, KALB, KAPLAN, REID AND PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY \frown

NOES – \cancel{O} ABSENT – \cancel{O} ABSTENTION – \cancel{O}

ATTEST: NON LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California