

16 APR -8 PM 2: 16

Approved as to Form and Legality

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. _____ C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF MYA WHITAKER, HOWARD TEVELSON AND THOMAS CAMERON TO THE CITIZEN'S POLICE REVIEW BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 12454 C.M.S., adopted November 12, 2002 (repealing Ordinance Nos. 11905 and 12102 C.M.S.) created the Oakland Citizen's Police Review Board to investigate and review certain complaints regarding conduct of Oakland police officers and park rangers, thereafter deliver timely advisory reports to the City Administrator regarding the facts of and recommended disposition of these complaints, as well as disciplinary recommendations if appropriate and additionally it may recommend policy changes to the Public Safety Committee regarding matters within its jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS, the Citizen's Police Review Board consists of nine members and three alternative members serving two-year staggered terms with no more than two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has reappointed Mya Whitake, Howard Tevelson and Thomas Cameron to serve a two-year term on the Citizen's Police Review Board subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of:

Mya Whitaker to serve a two-year term on the Citizen's Police Review Board beginning February 16, 2016 and ending February 15, 2018, filling the seat previously held by herself; and

Howard Tevelson to serve a two-year term on the Citizen's Police Review Board beginning February 16, 2016 and ending February 15, 2018, filling the seat previously held by himself; and

Thomas Cameron to serve a two-year term on the Citizen's Police Review Board beginning February 16, 2016 and ending February 15, 2018, filling the seat previously held by himself.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLEN, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, AND PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY

NOES -

ABSENT -

ABSTE NTION -

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California