

16 MAR -4 AM 9: 33



## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 86042 C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF JAVAY ROSS, MD, CHRISTIAN CURRY BATCHELDER, IRIS BRODY LOPEZ, MOLLY J. TAFOYA, AND MICHAEL L. MOORE, SR. TO THE HEAD START ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, the City of Oakland has been a grantee of the Head Start Program since 1972 and is required to have an established policy group and a well-functioning governing body that share responsibility for overseeing the delivery of high quality services to children and families in accordance with Head Start performance standards; and

**WHEREAS**, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

**WHEREAS**, the City Council passed Ordinance No. 13230 C.M.S. confirming the creation of the Head Start Advisory Board to assist the Council in its role as the Head Start Governing Body by overseeing, monitoring and reporting on the implementation of the Oakland Head Start/Early Head Start programs; and

**WHEREAS**, the Head Start Advisory Board is comprised of nine members serving three year terms; and

**WHEREAS,** pursuant to City Charter section 601, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Javay Ross, MD, Christian Curry Batchelder, Iris Brody Lopez, Molly Tafoya, and Michael L. Moore, Sr. to the Head Start Advisory Board for three year terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's following appointments to the Head Start Advisory Board:

Javay Ross, MD, mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning March 12, 2014 and ending March 11, 2017 filling the seat previously held by Stacy Thompson;

Christian Curry Batchelder, mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning March 12, 2014 and ending March 11, 2017 filling the seat previously held by Jo-Ellen Spencer;

Iris Brody Lopez, mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning March 12, 2014 and ending March 11, 2017 filling the seat previously held by Linda Perez;

Molly Tafoya, mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning March 12, 2014 and ending March 11, 2017 filling the seat previously held by Robert Beggs;

Michael L. Moore, Sr., mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning March 12, 2014 and ending March 11, 2017 filling the seat previously held by Krishen Laetsch.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

MAR 15 2016

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLÉN, KALB, KAPLAN, REID AND PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY — X

NOES - 🂢

ABSENT - 🚫

ABSTENTION - Ø

ATTEST:\_\_

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California