STREE OF THE CITY GLEAN, OAKLAND

15 SEP -4 PM 1:29

Approved as to Form and Legality

Macen Ley
City Attorney's Office

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 85770 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY HONORABLE MAYOR LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF THOMAS GREGORY, CALEB VAN DOCTO, DANIELLE P. ROUNDTREE, MIQUETTE A. THOMPSON, AARON B. ZISSER, BRIAN D. HARRINGTON AND THE REAPPONTMENT OF FATIMAH AURE (née SIMMONS) AND ELISE BERNSTEIN TO THE COMMISSION ON PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 9968 C.M.S., adopted August 5, 1980, and amended by Ordinance No. 11864 C.M.S., adopted March 12, 1996, created the Commission on Persons with Disabilities to address issues germane to accessibility, services and civil rights for persons with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Persons with Disabilities consists of fifteen (15) members serving three year staggered terms with no more than two consecutive terms; and

**WHEREAS,** 51% of Commission members must be persons with disabilities; and

**WHEREAS**, the Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf has appointed Thomas Gregory, Caleb van Docto, Danielle P.Roundtree, Miquette A. Thompson, Aaron B. Zisser, and Brian D. Harrington, and reappointed Fatimah Aure (née Simmons) and Elise Bernstein subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED:** That pursuant to City Charter section 601 the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's following appointments to the Commission on Persons with Disabilities:

**Thomas Gregory** for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015 and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Stephen Beard.

**Caleb van Docto** for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015 and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Amy Burns.

**Danielle P. Roundtree,** for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015 and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Michelle Hernandez.

**Brian D. Harrington,** for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015. and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Marlene Hurd.

**Aaron B. Zisser**, for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015. and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by Denise Sherer-Jacobson.

**Mignette A. Thompson,** for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2014 and ending September 2, 2017, filling the seat previously held by Grace Wright.

**Fatimah Aure (née Simmons)** for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015, and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by herself.

**Elise Bernstein** for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2015 and ending September 2, 2018, filling the seat previously held by herself.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

SEP 0 8 2015

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, CAMPBELL-WASHINGTON, GALLO, GUILLEN, KALB, KAPLAN, AND PRESIDENT GIBSON MCELHANEY ——

NOES - Ø

ABSENT - Ø

ABSTENTION -

Excused-Reid-1

ATTEST:

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California