

Approved as to Form and Legality

14 OCT 15 AM 11:39

RESOLUTION NO.

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

852**32**

C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF CATHY LEONARD AND DERRICK C. BULLS AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY POLICING ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 72727 C.M.S., adopted June 11, 1996 and amended by Resolution No. 73916 C.M.S., adopted November 4, 1997, which changed the body's status from a Task Force to a Board, establishes that the Community Policing Advisory Board shall oversee, monitor and report at least twice yearly and provide recommendations on community policing to the Mayor, City Council, City Manager, and director of Police Services; and

WHEREAS, the Community Policing Advisory Board consists of fifteen (15) members, all Oakland residents, serving three-year terms, three appointed by the Mayor, one by each Councilmember, one by the Oakland Housing Authority, one by the Oakland Unified School District Board, and two by the Home Alert Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has appointed Cathy Leonard to serve a three-year term as District 1 Representative and appointed Derrick C. Bulls to serve a three-year term as District 7 Representative, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Cathy Leonard to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term beginning March 24, 2014 and ending March 23, 2017, filling the seat previously held by Vertis Whitaker.

Derrick C. Bulls to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term beginning March 25, 2012 and ending March 24, 2015, filling the seat previously held by Doris Brown.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, <u>NOV 0'5 2014</u>

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES – BROOKS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KAPLAN, MEMO, SCHAAF, and PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN _7

NOES – \mathcal{D} ABSTENTIONS- Reid-1 ABSENT- ϕ ATTES/f: LaTonda Simmons City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California