DEFICE OF THE CITY CLERK

14 NOV -6 PM 3: 53

Approved as to Form and Legality Attorney's Office

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL RESOLUTION NO. 85209 C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY COUNCILMEMBER LIBBY SCHAAF

RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE BOYS & GIRLS CLUBS OF OAKLAND ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

WHEREAS, Boys & Girls Clubs of Oakland (formerly Oakland Boys Clubs) was chartered December 8, 1938 to provide local boys with a place to go and a way to grow; and

WHEREAS, 14 Club alumni: William Belford, Harry Dulan, Ray Goodwin, Charlie Hardy, Randy Harris, Robert Hodges, Jerome Hunt, Al Jackson, Curtis Moret, John "Fox" Reynolds, Percy Rivers, Marion Sims, Murphy Taylor, and Archie Whitley, Jr., desired to remain connected to their Club and support its mission beyond their years as Club members and so founded the Boys & Girls Clubs of Oakland Alumni Association (OBCAA) in 1964; and

WHEREAS, members of that founding group went on to become a medical doctor, a U.S. Army colonel, a BGCO executive director, a NFL standout, business leaders, and to make many other contributions to their community; and

WHEREAS, in 1989 the Alumni Association pledged to support the Boys & Girls Clubs of Oakland with a \$10,000 annual contribution, which today totals over \$200,000 to the Club; and

WHEREAS, of the 14 members at the first meeting, there are seven still alive and hopefully all in attendance at the 50th anniversary celebration; and

WHEREAS, BGCO, with six alumni enshrined in the Boys & Girls Clubs of America National Alumni Hall of Fame, has the most Hall of Famers of any Boys & Girls Club in the United States; and

WHEREAS, BGCO is celebrating the 50th anniversary of the OBCAA at a "*Come on Home Celebration*" on Saturday, November 1, 2014 at the Anna Marie Whalen Branch to encourage alumni to re-connect with their Club; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED: That the Oakland City Council honors the OBCAA on its 50 years of service to the BGCO, and its alumni who personify the club motto, *Great Futures Start Here*.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

OCT **2 1** 2014

- AYES BROOKS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, SOMAAF AND PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN 7
- NOES 🔍

ABSENT - i Schaaf

ABSTENTION – $\mathbf{\hat{Q}}$

U mmon 0 Dr ATTEST LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California