OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK OAKLAND

14 OCT - | PM 4: 41

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 85197c.M.S.

RESOLUTION APPOINTING LIRIO ZEPEDA AND REAPPOINTING QA'ID AQUEEL TAUHEED AS MEMBERS OF THE VIOLENCE PREVENTION AND PUBLIC SAFETY OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Violence Prevention and Public Safety Act of 2004, also known as Measure Y, adopted by the voters of Oakland in the November 2, 2004 General Municipal Election and Ordinance No. 12690, adopted by the City Council July 19, 2005, create the Violence Prevention and Public Safety Oversight Committee to oversee and monitor the activities and procedures of the Violence Prevention and Public Safety Act; and

WHEREAS, the Violence Prevention and Public Safety Act of 2004 specifies that members of the Violence Prevention and Public Safety Oversight Committee are to be appointed one by each Member of the City Council and three members by the Mayor, to serve unlimited one-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has appointed Lirio Zepeda and reappointed Qa'id Aqueel Tauheed to serve a one-year term subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore, be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of **Lirio Zepeda** to serve the term beginning September 15, 2014 and ending September 14, 2015, filling the seat previously held by Lucas Daumont; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of **Qa'id Aqueel Tauheed** upon the recommendation of Councilmember Rebecca Kaplan for At-Large District Representative to serve the term March 26, 2014 and ending March 25, 2015, filling the seat previously held by himself.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE

OCT 07 2014

AYES - BROOKS, GALLO, GIBSON MCELHANEY, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, SCHAAF AND

PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN — 8

NOES-

ABSENT- Ø ABSTENTIONS- Ø

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California