OFFICE OF THE SITY CHERK
OAKLAND
2011 AUG II PM 3: 00

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION No. 85121c.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF RYAN CHAN, CHRIS HWANG, CHRISTOPHER KIDD, FRED MCWILLIAMS, ROBERT PRINZ, MIDORI TABATA, ROYSTON TAYLOR, ROSA VILLALOBOS AND KENYA WHEELER TO THE BICYCLIST AND PEDESTRIAN ADVISORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 18815 C.M.S., adopted February 4, 2014, created the Oakland Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission to advise City Council and staff on bicyclist- and pedestrian- specific policies, projects, and programs, and on the accommodation of bicyclists and pedestrians in all transportation plans, policies, projects and programs, and to provide annual reports to the Public Works Committee of the City Council, to summarize the Commission's work over the course of the year, and to identify key policy issues affecting the safety of and access for bicyclists and pedestrians in Oakland; and

WHEREAS, the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission consists of nine members serving three-year staggered terms with no more than six consecutive years of service by any Commissioner; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has appointed Ryan Chan, Chris Hwang, Christopher Kidd, Fred McWilliams, Robert Prinz, Midori Tabata, Royston Taylor, Rosa Villalobos and Kenya Wheeler to each serve on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

**RESOLVED,** that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Robert Prinz to serve a one-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2014, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Chris Hwang to serve a one-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2014, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Ryan Chan to serve a one-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2014, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Royston Taylor to serve a two-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2015, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Christopher Kidd to serve a two-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2015, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Rosa Villalobos to serve a two-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2015, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Midori Tabata to serve a three-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2016, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Kenya Wheeler to serve a three-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2016, filling the seat previously held by no one.

Fred McWilliams to serve a three-year term on the Bicyclist and Pedestrian Advisory Commission beginning January 1, 2014 and ending December 31, 2016, filling the seat previously held by no one.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

JUL 29 2014

AYES - KALB, PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN, GIBSON MCELHANEY, SCHAAF, GALLO,

ATTEST

BROOKS, REID AND KAPLAN -8

NOES - A ABSTENTIONS-

ABSENT- 0

LATONDA SIMMONS

City Clerk and Clerk of the Oakland City Council