

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY

14 JUN 12 PM 12: 25

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. 85076 C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF DON LINK AND REAPPOINTMENT OF RENIA WEBB AS A MEMBER OF THE COMMUNITY POLICING ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 72727 C.M.S., adopted June 11, 1996, and amended by Resolution No. 73916 C.M.S., adopted November 4, 1997, which changed the body's status from a Task Force to a Board, establishes that the Community Policing Advisory Board shall oversee, monitor and report at least twice yearly and provide recommendations on community policing to the Mayor, City Council, City Manager, and director of Police Services; and

WHEREAS, the Community Policing Advisory Board consists of fifteen (15) members, all Oakland residents, serving three-year terms, three appointed by the Mayor, one by each Councilmember, one by the Oakland Housing Authority, one by the Oakland Unified School District Board, and two by the Home Alert Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has appointed Don Link to serve a three-year term as the Mayoral Representative and reappointed Renia Webb to serve a three-year term as the Oakland Housing Authority Representative, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of:

Don Link to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term beginning March 25, 2012 and ending March 25, 2015, filling the seat previously held by Jennifer Pae.

Renia Webb to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term beginning March 25, 2014 and ending March 24, 2017, filling the seat previously held by herself.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - KALB, GIBSON MCELHANEY, SCHAAF, GALLO, BROOKS, REID, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN
NOES -
ABSTENTIONS -
ATTEST LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Oakland City Council