14 FEB -6 PM 3:54



OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Rėsolution N o	CMS
INTRODUČED BY COUNCIL	PRESIDENT PATRICIA KERNIGHAN

RESOLUTION APPOINTING ANEW MAYOR JEAN QUAN AND RE-APPOINTING GWEN MCDONALD TO THE CHABOT SPACE & SCIENCE CENTER'S JPA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WHEREAS, the City of Oakland, the Oakland Unified School District and the East Bay Regional Park District are signatones to the Joint Powers Agreement that created the Chabot Space & Science Center in May 26,1989, and

WHEREAS, the Joint Powers Agreement, as amended January 1, 2003, at Section 1 01 Board of Directors Selection of Agency Directors and EAS Directors provides that "three Directors shall be representatives of the City to be appointed by its governing body at least one of whom shall be an elected member of the Council", and

WHEREAS, the term ended in 2010 of Mayor Jean Quan, who served as the City representative to the Chabot Center Board of Directors as the elected member of the City Council until her resignation as councilmember to run for mayor, and

WHEREAS, the term expired in January 2014 of Gwen McDonald, who serves as a City representative to the Chabot Center's Board of Directors, and

WHEREAS, the term will expire in January 2015 of Councilmember Libby Schaaf as the City representative to the Chabot Center Board of Directors as the elected member of the City Council, and

WHEREAS, the City Council's Rules of Procedure (Resolution No 82580 C M S) provide that "the President of the Council shall recommend appointments to regional and local boards and agencies, as appropriate, subject to confirmation by the Council", now, therefore be it

RESOLVED: that Mayor Jean Quan is hereby appointed anew to a term expiring January 2015 as a City representative to the Chabot Space and Science Center JPA Board of Directors, and

FURTHER RESOLVED that Gwen McDonald is hereby re-appointed to a term expining January 2017 as a City representative to the Chabot Space & Science Center's JPA Board of Directors

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE

AYES - BROOKS, GALLO, GIBSON McELHANEY, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, SCHAAF AND PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN,

NOES -ABSENT -ABSTENTION -

ATTEST

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California