FILED SFFICE OF THE CITY CLERK OAKLAND

13 SEP 25 PM 2:11

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

Can City ATTORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. _____ C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF ALMAZ YIHDEGO TO THE CITIZEN'S POLICE REVIEW BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 12454 C.M.S., adopted November 12, 2002 (repealing Ordinance Nos. 11905 and 12102 C.M.S.) created the Oakland Citizen's Police Review Board to investigate and review certain complaints regarding conduct of Oakland police officers and park rangers, thereafter deliver timely advisory reports to the City Administrator regarding the facts of and recommended disposition of these complaints, as well as disciplinary recommendations if appropriate and additionally it may recommend policy changes to the Public Safety Committee regarding matters within its jurisdiction; and

WHEREAS, the Citizen's Police Review Board consists of nine members and three alternative members serving two-year staggered terms with no more than two consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, on April 16, 2013, the Council confirmed the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan's appointment of Almaz Yihdego to fill the seat on the Citizen's Police Review Board previously held by Sarah Cohen; and

WHEREAS, the draft Resolution (No. 84287) submitted to the Council erroneously stated that the dates of Yihdego's term would be February 16, 2013, to February 15, 2015; and

WHEREAS, the correct dates for Cohen's term are February 16, 2012 to February 15, 2014; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby corrects the record and confirms the Mayor's appointment of Almaz Yihdego to serve on the Citizen's Police Review Board in the seat vacated by Sarah Cohen for the term beginning February 16, 2012 and ending February 15, 2014.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES – KALB, PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN, GIBSON MCELHANEY, SCHAAF, GALLO, BROOKS, REID AND KAPLAN NOES – ABSTENTIONS-ABSENT-

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Oakland City Council