

Approved as to Form and Legality Oakland City Attorney's Office

13 APR - I PHODAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Resolution No. ______C.M.S. INTRODUCED BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT PATRICIA KERNIGHAN

RESOLUTION APPOINTING MAYOR JEAN QUAN, COUNCIL PRESIDENT PATRICIA KERNIGHAN, COUNCILMEMBER LIBBY SCHAAF, CHIEF OF POLICE HOWARD JORDAN AND ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES MANAGER SARA BEDFORD OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES TO THE YOUTH VENTURES JOINT POWERS AUTHORITY

WHEREAS, on July 25, 2006 the Oakland City Council approved the Joint Powers Agreement ("JPA") creating the Youth Ventures Joint Powers Authority: and

WHEREAS, the Joint Powers Agreement provides that the City Council may make five appointments to the Youth Ventures JPA Board of Trustees for terms of four years; and

WHEREAS, on December 4, 2007 former Councilmembers Jane Brunner and Jean Quan, Assistant City Administrator Cheryl Thompson, Chief of Police Wayne Tucker, and Human Services Department Director Andrea Youngdahl were appointed to serve on the Youth Ventures Board of Trustees for a term ending June 30, 2011, and City Administrator Dan Lindheim was appointed to replace the former City Administrator on July 7, 2009; and

WHEREAS, the City of Oakland's five Trustee seats are now vacant due to intervening changes in personnel and the elected office holders; and

WHEREAS, the City Council's Rules of Procedure (Resolution No. 82580 C.M.S.) state that "the President of the Council shall recommend appointments to regional and local boards and agencies, as appropriate, subject to confirmation by the Council"; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED: That the following are hereby appointed to the Youth Ventures Joint Powers Authority Board of Trustees to complete the terms commencing on December 4, 2011 and ending December 3, 2015:

- Jean Quan, Mayor
- Patricia Kernighan, Council President
- Libby Schaaf, Councilmember
- Howard Jordan, Chief of Police
- Sara Bedford, Administrative Services Manager, Department of Human Services.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, GALLO, GIBSON McELHANEY, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, SCHAAF AND COUNCIL PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN

NOES ABSENT ABSTENTION

ATTEST:	
·	LATONDA SIMMONS
	City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of
	the City of Oakland, California