



Oakland City Attorney's Office

2013 FEB 21 PM 5: 11.

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Resolution No	C.M.S.
INTRODUCED BY COUNCIL	PRESIDENT PATRICIA KERNIGHAN

RESOLUTION APPOINTING THE FOLLOWING TO POSITIONS TO THE EXECUTIVE BOARD AND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE ASSOCIATION OF BAY AREA GOVERNMENTS: OAKLAND MAYOR JEAN QUAN AND COUNCILMEMBER LIBBY SCHAAF TO THE EXECUTIVE BOARD, COUNCILMEMBERS LYNETTE GIBSON McELHANEY AND DAN KALB AS ALTERNATE MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD, TO COMPLETE THE TWO-YEAR TERMS THAT COMMENCED ON JULY 1, 2012 AND END ON JUNE 30, 2014, AND COUNCILMEMBER LIBBY SCHAAF AS AN ALTERNATE MEMBER TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

WHEREAS, the City of Oakland is a member of the Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG); and

WHEREAS, the ABAG Bylaws, as amended April 23, 2009, provide for three Representatives from the City of Oakland on the Executive Board, up to three Alternate Representatives on the Executive Board, and an Alternate Member to the Mayor and Council President on the General Assembly; and

WHEREAS, the City Council's Rules of Procedure (Resolution No. 82580 C.M.S.) state that "the President of the Council shall recommend appointments to regional and local boards and agencies, as appropriate, subject to confirmation by the Council"; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED: That Mayor Jean Quan and Council Member Libby Schaaf are appointed as Representatives to the ABAG Executive Board to complete the two-year terms that commenced on July 1, 2012 and end on June 30, 2014, previously held by former Councilmembers Jane Brunner and Nancy Nadel; they join Councilmember Desley Brooks, previously appointed as a Representative to the Executive Board, whose term expires June 30, 2014, and be it further

RESOLVED: That Councilmembers Lynette Gibson McElhaney and Dan Kalb are appointed as Alternate Members to be the ABAG Executive Board to complete the two-year terms that commenced on July 1, 2012 and end on June 30, 2014; and be it further

RESOLVED: That Councilmember Libby Schaaf is appointed to be the ABAG General Assembly Alternate Member.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, GALLO, GIBSON McELHANEY, KALB, KAPLAN, REID, SCHAAF AND PRESIDENT KERNIGHAN

NOES ABSENT ABSTENTION

ALIESI.	 	011110110	
ATTEST:		•	

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California