APPROVED FOR FORMAND LEGALITY			
LE	2-04	~a	mannen
	(CITY ATTORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR JEAN QUAN

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF SCOTT J. BLANKS, PHYLLIS STEVENSON AND GRACE E. WRIGHT TO THE COMMISSION ON PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES (MCPD)

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 9968 C.M.S., adopted August 5, 1980, and amended by Ordinance No. 11864 C.M.S., adopted March 12, 1996, created the Commission on Persons with Disabilities to address issues germane to accessibility, services and civil rights for persons with disabilities; and the Commission on Persons with Disabilities consists of fifteen (15) members serving three year staggered terms with no more than two consecutive terms, and 51% of Commission members must be persons with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has appointed Scott J. Blanks to serve the three-year term previously held by Michael Moore, appointed Phyllis Stevenson to serve the three-year term previously held by Lynne Cutler and appointed Grace E. Wright to complete the three year term previously held by Margarita Diaz, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: That pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointments to the Mayor's Commission on Persons with Disabilities for the terms set forth below:

Scott J. Blanks Mayoral appointment to serve the term previously held by Michael Moore, beginning September 3, 2012 and ending on September 2, 2015.

Phyllis Stevenson, Mayoral appointment to serve the term previously held by Lynne Cutler. beginning October 19, 2011 and ending October 18, 2014,

Grace E. Wright, Mayoral appointment to complete the term which began September 3, 2011 and will end September 2, 2014, filling the seat previously held by Margarita Diaz.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BRUNNER, KERNIGHAN, NADEL, SCHAAF, DE LA FUENTE, BROOKS, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID NOES -ABSTENTION -ABSENT -

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California