

## OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Resolution No. \_\_\_\_\_C.M.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR JEAN QUAN

## RESOLUTION APPOINTING CHARLIE MINTZ AND MARLON S. HENDRIX AS MEMBERS OF THE CANNIBUS REGULATORY COMMISSION

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act (Ordinance 12694 C.M.S.), also known as Measure Z, adopted by the voters of Oakland, November 2, 2004 in the General Municipal Election, creates the Cannabis Regulatory Commission to oversee the ordinance's implementation and the disbursement of revenue from licensing and taxation of businesses that sell cannabis; and

WHEREAS, the Oakland Cannabis Regulation and Revenue Act specifies that members of the Cannabis Regulatory Commission are to be appointed one by the Mayor, one by the City Auditor, one by the City Administrator, and one from each Member of the City Council, to serve unlimited two-year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has appointed Charlie Mintz as District 2 Representative, as recommended by Councilmember Pat Kernighan, and Marlon S. Hendrix as District 6 Representative, as recommended by Councilmember Desley Brooks, to seats on the Committee, each to serve two-year terms subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of Charlie Mintz to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission for a two-year term beginning August 1, 2012 and ending July 31, 2014, filling the seat previously held by Joseph Villatoro, and Marlon S. Hendrix to the

MEETING OF THE OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

JUN 1 9 2012

Cannabis Regulatory Commission for a two-year term beginning August 1, 2012 and ending July 31, 2014, filling the seat previously held by Dhar Mann.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, .

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, BRUNNER, DE LA FUENTE, KERNIGHAN, NADEL, SCHAAF, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID

NOES --ABSENT --ABSTENTION --

• •

.

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Council of the City of Oakland, California

> 7.14 MEETING OF THE OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

> > JUN 1 9 2012