FILEG

OFFICE OF THE CHTY CLEFF

OAKLAND

12 MAY -2 PM 2: 34

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. _____ C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENT OF MARCUS JOHNSON, REAPPOINTMENT OF GREG NOVAK AND APPOINTMENT OF FRANK CASTRO AS MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY POLICING ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Resolution No. 72727 C.M.S., adopted June 11, 1996 and amended by Resolution No. 73916, adopted November 4, 1997, which changed the body's status from a Task Force to a Board, establishes the Community Policing Advisory Board to oversee, monitor and report at least twice yearly and provide recommendations on community policing to the Mayor, City Council, City Manager, and director of Police Services; and

WHEREAS, the Community Policing Advisory Board consists of fifteen (15) members, all Oakland residents, serving three-year terms, three appointed by the Mayor, one by each Councilmember, one by the Oakland Housing Authority, one by the Oakland Unified School District Board, and two by the Home Alert Steering Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has

- reappointed Marcus Johnson on the recommendation of Councilmember Rebecca Kaplan as the At-Large Representative to the Community Policing Advisory Board,
- reappointed Greg Novak on the recommendation of Council President Larry Reid as the District 7 Representative to the Community Policing Advisory Board,

 affirmed the election of Frank Castro by the Neighborhood Watch Steering Committee as a Home Alert Representative to the Community Policing Advisory Board,

each to serve a three year term subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED: that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of Marcus Johnson to the Community Policing Advisory Board to serve a three-year term beginning March 26, 2012 and ending March 25, 2015, filling the seat he previously held; confirms the Mayor's reappointment of Greg Novak to a three-year term beginning March 25, 2012 and ending March 24, 2015, filling the seat he previously held; and confirms the Mayor's appointment of Frank Castro to a three-year term beginning March 25, 2012 and ending March 24, 2015, filling the seat previously held by Josephine Lee.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BRUNNER, KERNIGHAN, NADEL, SCHAAF, DE LA FUENTE, BROOKS, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID NOES - ABSTENTIONS-ABSENT-

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Oakland City Council

PACED
DIFICE OF THE CITY CLERA
OAKLAND

12 APR 19 PM 1:38

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

CITY ATTORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. C.M.S. INTRODUCED BY MAYOR JEAN QUAN

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF EARL S. HAMLIN TO THE BOARD OF PORT COMMISSIONERS TO COMPLETE THE REMAINDER OF MICHAEL LIGHTY'S TERM, WHICH BEGAN ON JULY 11, 2009 AND ENDS ON JULY 10, 2013

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Article VII, Section 701 of the City Charter, as amended by Stats., November 1988 creates the Board of Port Commissioners to set policy for and govern the activities of the Port of Oakland, appointing is own Executive Director and approving its own budget and promoting and insuring the comprehensive and adequate development of the Port of Oakland through continuity of control, management and operation; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Port Commissioners consists of seven (7) members serving 4-year terms, who are nominated by the Mayor and appointed by Council, and who must be residents of the city of Oakland, having resided in Oakland for one year prior to appointment; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has nominated Earl S. Hamlin to the Board of Port Commissioners to complete the four year term previously held by Michael Lighty, which began on July 11m 2009 and ends on July 10, 2013, subject to confirmation by the City Council; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of Earl S. Hamlin to fill the vacancy for the seat previously held by Michael Lighty on the Board of Port Commissioners to complete the remainder of Michael Lighty's term, which began on July 11, 2009 and ends on July 10, 2013.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BRUNNER, KERNIGHAN, NADEL, SCHAAF, DE LA FUENTE, BROOKS, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID

NOES -

ABSTENTIONS-

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS
City Clerk and Clerk of the Council
of the City of Oakland, California