LILLÚ OFFICE OF THE OFTY CLERK OAKLAND

12 MAR 23 AM 10: 22

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. C.N.S.

INTRODUCED BY MAYOR JEAN QUAN

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S REAPPOINTMENTS OF JOHN GOINS III AND VALERIE GARRY AS MEMBERS OF THE LANDMARKS PRESERVATION ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No. 8883 C.M.S., passed October 4, 1973, and amended by Ordinance No. 11776, passed March 14, 1995 establishes the Landmarks Preservation Advisory Board to identify historic landmarks in Oakland, conduct design review hearings on historic properties, and advise the City Planning Commission and City Council on preservation; and

WHEREAS, the Landmarks Preservation Advisory Board consists of seven (7) members including one architect, one landscape architect or city planner, one real estate broker with significant experience in historic real estate, and one historian, and two other members, each serving 3-years terms but not more than two consecutive three year terms; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has reappointed John Goins III to the Landmarks Preservation Advisory Board to the seat for a person with significant experience in real estate and reappointed Valerie Garry to the Landmarks Preservation Advisory Board to a non designated seat, each to serve a three year term subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's reappointment of John Goins III for a three year term beginning February 22, 2012 and ending February 21, 2015 and the reappointment of Valerie Garry for a three year term beginning February 22, 2012 and ending February 21, 2015, both filling the seats they previously held.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES – BRUNNER, KERNIGHAN, NADEL, SCHAAF, DE LA FUENTE, BROOKS, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID NOES – ABSTENTIONS-ABSENT-

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Clerk of the Oakland City Council