OTHER OF THE CLEY COOKLAND CITY COUNCIL

Approved as to Fo	m and Legality
-0	City Attorney

C.M.S

11 OCT -6 AMRESQLUTION NO.____

INTRODUCED BY COUNCILMEMBER SCHAAF

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING SHIRLEY BURNELL AND SHARON CORNUAS THE FIRST RECIPIENTS OF THE COMMUNITY LEADER AND LABOR LEADER AWARDS BY THE EAST BAY ALLIANCE FOR A SUSTAINABLE ECONOMY

WHEREAS, The East Bay Alliance for a Sustainable Economy (EBASE) is celebrating twelve years of building a vibrant Oakland and East Bay, where workers have a voice on the job, neighbors engage in community decisions, and kids grow up to fulfill their dreams; and

WHEREAS, in its 12-year history, EBASE has impacted the lives of 20,000 workers and community members in Oakland and the East Bay by raising workplace standards, increasing job access, and boosting income; and

WHEREAS, at its 12th anniversary celebration on October 5th, EBASE presented its first-ever Community Leader and Labor Leader Awards; and

WHEREAS, Shirley Burnell is the first recipient of the Community Leader of the Year award; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Burnell is a dedicated leader in West Oakland with Alliance of Californians for Community Empowerment (ACCE) and a leader in EBASE's coalitions inspiring our community to build a better Oakland for our grand children and future generations with good jobs, safe streets, high quality schools and affordable housing; and

WHEREAS, Sharon Comu is the first recipient of the Labor Leader of the Year award; and

WHEREAS, As the Executive Secretary-Treasurer of the Alameda Labor Council, AFL-CIO for nearly eight years, Ms. Comu led the East Bay's fight to rebuild an American middle class, and as a member of the EBASE Board of Directors, she was instrumental in building the organization into a strong labor-community-faith alliance; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the City of Oakland congratulates and commends Shirley Bumell and Sharon Comu for their extraordinary leadership and unwavering commitment to better the lives of workers and community members, here in Oakland and throughout the greater East Bay.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, _____, 20_____, 20_____,

PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES - BROOKS, BRUNNER, DE LA FUENTE, KAPLAN, KERNIGHAN, NADEL, SCHAAF, and PRESIDENT REID

NOES -ABSENT -ABSTENTION -

ATTEST:__