

2011 APR 19 AM 10: 05

Letter of Nomination

May 3, 2011

The Honorable City Council One City Hall Plaza, Second Floor Oakland, CA 94612

Dear President Reid and members of the City Council:

Pursuant to City Charter section 601, the Mayor, hereby appoints the following person as a member of the following **B**oard or Commission, subject to the City Council's confirmation:

COMMISSION ON PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

Betty Mulholland, Mayoral appointment to serve the term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by Lorraine Rosenblatt.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

Jean Quan Mayor

1

CILED OFFICE OF THE CITY CLERE OAKLAND

11 APR 18 AM 11:58

APPROVED FOR FORM AND LEGALITY CITY ATTORNEY

OAKLAND CITY COUNCIL

RESOLUTION NO. _____ C.M.S.

RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE MAYOR'S APPOINTMENT OF BETTY MULHOLLAND TO THE COMMISSION ON PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

WHEREAS, Section 601 of the City Charter provides that members of City boards and commissions shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by the affirmative vote of five members of the City Council; and

WHEREAS, Ordinance No 9968 C.M.S., adopted August 5, 1980, and amended by Ordinance No. 11864 C.M.S, adopted March 12, 1996, created the Commission on Persons with Disabilities to address issues germane to accessibility, services and civil rights for persons with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, the Commission on Persons with Disabilities consists of fifteen (15) members serving three year staggered terms with no more than two consecutive terms, and 51% of Commission members must be disabled persons; and

WHEREAS, the Honorable Mayor Jean Quan has appointed Betty Mulholland to serve a three year term subject to confirmation by the City Council; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that pursuant to City Charter section 601, the City Council hereby confirms the Mayor's appointment of Betty Mulholland to the Commission on Persons with Disabilities for a three-year term beginning September 3, 2009 and ending September 2, 2012, filling the seat previously held by Lorraine Rosenblatt.

IN COUNCIL, OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA, PASSED BY THE FOLLOWING VOTE:

AYES – BRUNNER, KERNIGHAN, NADEL, SCHAAF, DE LA FUENTE, BROOKS, KAPLAN AND PRESIDENT REID NOES – ABSTENTIONS-ABSENT-

ATTEST:

LATONDA SIMMONS City Clerk and Cierk of the Oakland City Council